Testimonials

Trip Adviser Reviews:

 

Dan B

“Amazing”

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was put in here by work. It’s a clean quiet place with an amazing breakfast. I had to leave early a couple of days and she said she would make me breakfast then. As mentioned by others. If you are lucky enough to be at the front you will see right down to the sea. Beautiful view I will return with my mrs definitely :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business

 

 

SlimKaren – Letterkenny, Ireland

“A pure delight!”

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A group of us travelled up to play golf in nearby Whitehead Golf Course – also lovely!
Beechgrove is a beautiful farmhouse B & B. Betty is such a delightful host & her staff equally so. There is a quirkiness about some of the rooms with great little touches added! Breakfast had just about everything!! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014

Michael M – Vancouver, Canada

“Lovely country stay!”

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Betty and her staff were wonderful. The surroundings of this B & B were so beautiful. This was a very nice stay clean and comfortable with a good breakfast. Betty even went above and beyond and allowed us to use her internet for driving directions (which we had lost). How kind. Lovely farmhouse in the quiet country! Thank you Betty for your hospitality and good company :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple

 

Sam R – Halifax
“Bettys Beautiful Spot.”

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for 7 nights and enjoyed every one. Betty is a lovely old lass and made us feel welcome from the outset .The room was clean and had good views over Belfast Lough. Free wifi throughout. Traditional Ulster Fry was a treat at breakfast time.
Even the cats and kittens around the farmhouse were friendly :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple

 

Erin C – Dallas, Texas
“Restful and convienent”

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great old farmhouse that overlooks Belfast Lough. Very gracious hostess. We could watch the sailboats in the evening, looking over the grazing sheep on the sloping field. Convenient to Carrickfergus, sites, restaurants, as well as an easy train ride into Belfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple

 

Krista M – Toronto, Canada
“Probably my favourite of them all!”

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had many fantastic b&bs in Ireland, but I have to say, that this one was my favourite :) VERY friendly owner, very clean, comfortable rooms. Lots of towels, wi fi, TV and tea in the room. I wish we had stayed longer. I loved the sheep in the front view, and if you are so inclined as I am towards animals, there were little kittens hidden on the property. If you aren’t so inclined, you wouldn’t even know they were there. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple

 

Sandrabasset – Scotland
“Friendly and comfortable, a real find.”

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beautifully situated with great views wherever you look. I had a double aspect room and could watch the sheep in the fields at the back or across Belfast Lough. I sat with a coffee and watched the sun set over the water from the comfort of my room. There was a plentiful supply of tea and coffee with a lovely selection of biscuits if you wanted them. Nothing was spared. There were even sweets in a little glass bowl. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast amazing. This was served in front of a huge log fire. Betty the owner is a very friendly lady and a pleasure to talk to. Her helpers were efficient and friendly. This place is to be recommended highly for comfort, food, views. friendliness and cleanliness. Top marks.
Stayed April 2013, travelled on business

M0ville – MOville, Donegal
“Home from home”

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed two nights. Immediately felt like I was home. Treated as if I was one of the family. Betty is a real lovely lady- very motherly. Room was lovely with view over Belfast Lough. Food lovely especially the fresh fruit salad and full Irish. Can’t recommend it too highly and free wifi!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo

 

Ronalee Lyle R
“Timeless”

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

What a great frarmhouse B&B….our hostess, Betty, made us feel like family! Great room with a view of the sheep in the field. Sort easy trip by car to the train station which took us to Belfast. Accommodations were great….very comfortable bed…and quiet! Excellent breakfast! Easy to find and lots of parking! We both recommend this as a must stop in Ireland!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple

 

Carole 611 – New Jersey
“Lovely, quiet, friendly!”

Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while we toured the area. Betty, who runs the B&B is a wonderful, friendly and helpful person. It is old-fashioned, but our stay was very comfortable and we lacked for nothing – including a TV in the room. Terrific, freshly prepared breakfasts each morning. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple

 

 

“A VERY WELCOMING GUEST HOUSE”

Reviewed 20 August 2012

sweetFife – Fife

Stayed here for 2 nights before crossing back to Scotland. The lady who runs this guest house is so nice as is her staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was on the small side for 3 adults but adequate. Bathroom was lovely. Breakfast was good as well. All in all I have no complaints and would certainly stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family

 

Morgan2010  – Lebanon, New Jersey
“Large old farmhouse – my favorite type of B&B”

Reviewed 21 July 2012

While my lady found the place a bit old fashion, we enjoyed our stay very much. Bedroom was adequate size, bathroom as well. We liked to stay on working farms. Here you will see sheep cows, and maybe even another litter of kittens. Your host is an elderly women that does the cooking while she has helpers serve it. Breakfast was quite nice. Their location is away from the bustle of city even village, so you will have to drive to dinner. Our mist queit sleep. Overall very nice spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple

 

DilysH – Cambridge, Canada
“enchanting stay”

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We arrived about 9:30 PM. Mrs. Barron waited up for us and escorted us up to our room and took our breakfast order. Our accomodations were very clean and well kept with a private bathroom. We had a wonderful view over Belfast Lough. We were close to Carrickfergus for sightseeing and meals. We took an early morning walk up the lane and saw lots of sheep. Our hosts were extremely gracious and kind. A lovely stay on a working farm! Porridge was the best ever! Felt like we were personal guests in Mrs. Barron’s home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple

 

Jenna D – Elberton, Georgia
“Great place to stay”

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Mrs. Barron has a lovely home. The location is perfect- only a 15 minute train ride into Belfast and you can walk to the station from her house. The rooms are spacious enough and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and large enough to move around in comfortably. The only negative thing I can say is that the water pressure is almost nonexistent. The size of the breakfast that Mrs. Barron provides is unbeatable in quantity and was fantastic. I would absolutely stay at Mrs. Barron’s again. She is a lovely woman with a beautiful home.

Room Tip: The room upstairs on the front side of the house has a fantastic view.

See more room tips

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple

 

madmi601 – carlisle
“review of beechgrove farm bed and breakfast”

Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Northern Ireland and spent two nights at the Beechgrove Farm Bed and Breakfast. What a setting with fantastic views over the Lough. The landlady Mrs Barron was very accomodating and welcoming. The room I had was very well equipped and clean. The bed was very comfortable and a good size. I was suprised at the size of the breakfast placed in front of me, I could not eat it all. I would have no quarms in staying there on my next visit to Ireland and would recommend to anyone to do the same.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side

See more room tips

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo

 

myjudge2 – Nacogdoches, Texas
“Hidden Gem!”

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Beautiful view of Belfast Lough and the prettiest little hillside full of sheep. The little lady that keeps the place LOVES flowers and they are everywhere. The old farmhouse is covered in ivy and very quaint. The room we stayed in had one of the biggest bathrooms of any we stayed in while in Ireland. The breakfast was amazing. I couldn’t eat it all. When the owner found out we were getting married, she sneaked a wedding card and champagne into our room while we were out. Very sweet. We really loved the place and can’t say enough about the owner. This is the real thing, not a new house built to be a B&B, but someone’s real home that they have opened up to guests.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple



 

 

B&B Ireland Reviews:

 

Gary

It was a pleasure to wake up and look out your window and see a field full of sheep. The property full of flowers. Breakfast was great. Older farmhouse but very nice.

****

 

Jack Jennifer Thalen

Very pleasant hostess. Comfortable room and an excellent breakfast.

****

 

DESMOTTES

Nice and quiet BB at the farm in the middle of the fields.

****

 

WILFRED DURHAM

OUR PARTY OF 3 ENJOYED OUR STAY AT BEECHGROVE.IT WAS OUR FIRST STOP IN IRELAND AND PROVED TO BE ONE OF SEVERAL DELIGHTFUL PLACES TO STAY. THE FACILITIES WERE GOOD AND THE FRIENDLY SERVICES WERE GREAT. PARKING WAS GOOD AND THE LODGE CLOSE BY, RECOMMENDED BY THE BB, WAS VERY PLEASING. THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS A GREAT START TO OUR TRIP TO IRELAND. THANK YOU.

***

 

Peggy Frank

Lovely location, close to town and so charming Our rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated it was wonderful to be woken to the sounds of the sheep calling us to breakfast…which was delicious Highly recommended BB.

****

 

Katie Schmutz

Great Breakfast and hospitality.

***

 

Curtis Linda Nigh

Beechgrove was a delightful historical feeling farm setting. The staff were warm and hospitible and we absolutely loved the old greenhouse full of herbs and vegables.

****

 

Scott Rognlie

We stayed at the Beechgrove BB on our way from Northern Ireland back down to Dublin. Great access to Carrickfergus and the castle. Mrs. Barron was great. And again, another great traditional Irish breakfast. Great stay.

****

 

A Richardson

First class excellent breakfast v good value wil revisit in six month

***

 

Jim Cruickshank

Good accommadation with easy access to belfast surrounding country side,great for larne ferry.